Ghalib

I have to now find out the real drivers that force me to write. Last time I blogged, it was kabir and now I can’t stop myself from typing a few lines about Mirza Ghalib. Thanks to the few songs sung by Jagjit Singh, I can say that I have some idea of the all time classic shayar Mirza Asadullah Baig Khan, or as we all know Mirza Ghalib.

Har ek baat pe kehte ho tum ki tu kya hai

tumhee kaho ke ye andaaz-e-guftagoo kya hai

Ragon mein daudte firne ke hum naheen qayal

jab aankh hi se na tapka to fir lahu kya hai

jala hai jism jahan dil bhi jal gaya hoga

kuredate ho jo raakh, justajoo kya hai!

I must mention that this guy is simply amazing. Almost all of his work was his depiction of love and his poetry was driven by the explanation of the beauty of his beloved, the pain of infidelity and the similar feelings. Of all his stuff that I know, this is the one I rate very high:-

Unke dekhe se jo aa jaati muh par raunak

woh samajhte hain ki beemaar ka haal achha hai 🙂

sabko maloom hai jannat ki haqeeqat lekin

dil ko khush rakhne ko ghaalib ye khayaal achha hai

In one phrase, he unfolds such bewildering truth of life, this mere achievement of packaging the reality with such subtleness and reality does amuse me. And it has been over-used after he wrote it down.

Hazaaaron Khwahishein aisi ki har khwahish pe dum nikle

bahut nikle mere armaan lekin fir bhi kam nikle

mohabbat mein nahi hai farq jeene aur marne ka

usee ko dekh kar jeete hain jis qaafir pe dum nikle

There isn’t much I can say about him. He is a legend.

Hai aur bhi duniya mein sukhanwar bahut achhe

kehte hain ghaalib ka hai andaaz-e-bayaan aur

7 Responses to “Ghalib”

  1. Amod Says:

    You and your Ghalib!! * Passes over my head *

    Neat blog, I’ll blogroll ya! And send me a gtalk invite.. I like the way our discussions invariably turn philosophic.

  2. vaani Says:

    a few of these lines can be found somewhere in my diaries….but i never knew it was ghalib who wrote them……….

    thanx for the enlightenment…

    u n ghalib ….simply awesome 🙂

  3. Vivek Says:

    Dost,

    I expected gulzar to be the subject here but was pleasantly surprised to find Ghalib’s
    Chu gayi ye lines, jaise har baar chuti hain,
    jab bhi me tu inhe suna kar mujhe pakata tha…;)
    miss those moments and ofcourse the person I shared them with…

    Nice one..Keep posting some more.
    Chak de 😛

  4. diwakar Says:

    Nostalgic,
    indeed!

    🙂

  5. Samir Says:

    Salaams!

    What can I say about Ghalib?

    Better said in Ghalib’s words only……..

    mujhe kya boora tha marna, agar ek baar hota
    yeh na thi hamari kismat……..

  6. Dinesh Says:

    Sirjee,
    Awesome. I still miss/cherish those times when we used to discuss about famous poets such as Ghalib and Gulzar saahib.
    To conclude I will add something to what you said correctly. I agree that Ghalib’s shers are driven by nothing but love. However, this is not necesaarily about a human being he loved. You can relate all his shers as supplicatary prayers. Only no one would sing them like that 😦 too bad.
    To conclude:
    mat pooch ke kya haal hai mera tere peeche
    too dekh ke kya rang hai tera mere aage


Leave a Reply

